Senior Living | Care Listings | Guidance | Experts 


Five stages of griefLosing a person you love is very painful. Most of us will experience this at some point in our lives. During this very challenging time, it will be very helpful to have support from family and friends because they know and understand exactly how you feel.Talking to them and sharing your feelings will make you feel better.

Bookmark and Share

According to Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, a psychiatrist and the popular author of “On Death and Dying” there are five stages of grief:

Denial– this is when the grieving person does not want to believe the truth. Initially, there is a tendency to deny the loss has taken place. During this stage, you might also avoid any social contacts.

Anger– this is when the person gets mad and irritated for not having any control of the situation and tends to blame others for what he/she feels.

Bargaining– during this stage, people try to come up with different ways to negotiate a compromise or simply try to get back what they lost.

Depression– when people realize that they cannot do anything anymore to stop the loss or to change what had happened. This stage involves sadness, misery and constant crying, which is natural.

Acceptance– this is when the person learns to accept the reality of the loss and can finally move on. However this does not mean that the grieving person will no longer get sad about the loss.

These are all normal reactions and feelings of people when dealing with a loss. Keep in mind that there is no timetable for grieving because each person is different. It might take weeks, months or even years for some to over come the pain. One thing is for sure, the pain will reduce over time, just like the popular saying “time heals all wounds.


Related Articles: Helpful Links:

Copyright © 2008-2010 All Rights Reserved.

NOTE: If you would like to use this article on your website or your blog, you MUST include the following immediately below the article.

Kate Allado, Senior Care ExpertAbout the Author: Catharine D. Allado is a Senior Care Expert and the COO of – A trusted and comprehensive online directory of Senior Care Homes such as Assisted Living, Nursing Homes and other types of Senior Housing in California, Florida, New York, Arizona and the rest of the United States. also provides FREE Assisted Living options to help seniors and families find the best Senior Housing on the planet!

Follow Us:
0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5 (0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5)
You need to be a registered member to rate this post.